The 90/10 Rule

Posted: January 31, 2011 by davnorton in Working For You
Tags: , ,

Diet – it’s a bad word. I don’t diet, I really don’t. What I’ve done is trained myself to eat the right amounts of real food MOST of the time. But every so often I eat something gross or eat too much of something good – and my body tells me.

Tonight I had a very nice early dinner with my family. We had Pho at Lemongrass in Eagle Rock – yum! And pretty good for you. Soup with noodles and lean beef. Love it – all about the flavor. Then we went and picked up Kylie and she wanted Pizza so we went to this little gourmet pizza place in Glendale called Rocky’s. I took a bite of cheese pizza to make sure it wasn’t too hot and omg – amazing pie. I ate a whole piece. Well it’s a special occasion so I went next door to get dessert for Kylie and they had these huge super chunk chocolate chip cookies (420 cals posted right there but I bought it anyway) plus I got a 32oz iced blended pure dark chocolate peppermint. – which sounded good cuz it’s christmas.

I ate half the cookie and most of the drink. Now I feel like crap.

Here’s the difference. I don’t feel like I “ruined” my diet. I just indulged in some wonderful flavors and now my body is paying for it. But it’s OK. It’s the 90/10 rule. Eat well 90% of the time and you can indulge every so often. I’m being punished because I over did it, but my brain isn’t messed up by it. Come Monday I’ll be working out again and my next meal will be healthy and on-track with my real lifestyle.

Leave a Reply

